20 Questions… Desmond Dekker

Hello, everyone! Time for a new post since I haven’t updated the site for about two weeks now.

Today I’ll be sharing a nice little piece taken from a Fabulous 208 Magazine dated May 1969. Pamela Townsend, the journalist, interviews a very young Desmond Dekker, who, as we’ll see, is a man of few words. Let’s read what he has to say:

From the land of sunshine and sugar-cane Desmond Dekker has made his mark on our charts with Israelites. Desmond is twenty-seven, not married, but looking around! I chatted to him recently and he answered some questions in his beautiful West Indian accent.

Desmond1

1. What impressions have you formed of Britain?

Everyone is so friendly, they make me feel welcome and the kids are very entertaining.

2. Would you like to settle here?

I haven’t decided, but if the record is successful, I well might.

3. What do you miss about Jamaica when you’re away?

The sunshine and the warmth.

4. Do you like English girls?

Oh yes. Those mini skirts are just – wow!

Yes, I guess he liked mini-skirts. Lol!

5. How would you describe your country to a stranger?

Blue skies, sun, warm breezes always blowing, lots of beaches, drinking coconut water, eating mangoes and bananas and sugar cane.

6. What do you think of marriage?

I’m not married but the idea is great. I don’t have anyone lined up yet.

7. Are you religious?

A little.

8. What miracle would you like to perform if you could?

I’d like a miracle to convert me so I was religious.

9. If you couldn’t sing, what would you do?

I’d just write music, but I live for singing.

Desmond3

Source: BBC

10. Do you have any hobbies?

Swimming, cricket and football.

11. Which country are you most looking forward to visit?

America, particularly New York. I just want to see what it’s like for myself.

12. What do you spend most of your money on?

Clothes for my act and records.

13. Do you write your own music?

Yes. Some weeks I can write six songs, other weeks only three, it depends on my mood.

14. How old were you when you became interested in music?

About eighteen. I was encouraged by my friends. I didn’t have any faith in myself but everyone said I could be a good musician, so I tried.

15. Did you have lessons?

No, I taught myself and play the guitar and piano a little.

Desmond2

A great double sider from 1969! Classic but they don’t get better than this!

16. What’s your home like in Jamaica?

I live with my parents, two brothers and one sister, in Kencot.

17. What do your parents do?

My father has a business and my mother is a telephone operator.

18. Are you ambitious?

I’d like to be very famous and rich so I can give my mum and dad things they haven’t dreamt of.

19. What’s your greatest enjoyment from life?

Singing.

20. What do you see yourself doing in 10 years’ time?

The same as I am now, only maybe I’ll be directing music too.

***

Well, we certainly can’t describe Desmond as Mr. Talkative (in the good sense). Maybe he was tired, maybe he didn’t want to talk, who knows. At least we had two things in common, we spent all our money on records and clothes!

And as always in parting, a nice little tune. Rest in Peace, Desmond.

2 thoughts on “20 Questions… Desmond Dekker

  1. Spring 1969, very much under-drinking age, I was refused entrance to the Daylight Inn, Petts Wood, Kent, where DD was playing. It was the day that ‘Israelites’ got to No.1 in the UK charts.

    • I was seventeen and I remember it clearly, seeing him on TOTPs and then walkind down Petts Wood Road to see him in the evening. They used to have quite a few ska and Reggae bands there. I remember seeing the Pyramids quite a few times

Leave a Reply

